Commandment Number Six.

I’ve been building my own ten commandments, but it has been awhile since I have made any additions. Here’s a brief refresher.

  1. Thou shalt not take shit.
  2. Thou shalt not dwell (beyond 10 seconds)
  3. Laugh, always
  4. Dance like no one’s watching
  5. Look fierce, be fierce.

My latest addition is a hard learned lesson. I’m accepting the loss of several friendships, my parents, and a lot of things that I once viewed as stable and supportive. Since Teach for America has a assigned me to be a secondary math teacher in the 2014 corp, let me explain it in equations.

  • Me friends, parents, support = sadness 
  • sadness + confusing life transitions = isolation
  • feeling isolated > sense of self worth
  • Sense of self worth < what I know I’m worth.

The constant and repetitive subtraction of people, things, and relationships from my life has come with its own set of challenges. Until recently, I saw each event and each person gone, leaving, or withering as an addition to my own sadness and isolation. But now, I’m discovering that the people that leave your life, the support that ceases to exist over time, and the parents  that you are beginning to realize you don’t actually know have shown glimpses of their true colors and nature, leading me to Commandment number six.

6. Allow people to show you their nature and never forget what you have seen. 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

