Hating Shannon.

Today was a great day, until 12:30 p.m. Which I guess realistically means that this morning was a great morning…

At 12:30 p.m. I made my way to Japanese class practically skipping. I gave my final presentation of my undergraduate career, I was wearing pink pants, it was sunny and warm–life was fabulous! I took my seat and felt unusually social with Phillip the bully and some of the other odd ones in the class.

The class began normally, but less than five minutes into it, the door opened and some rando chick walks in. “Oh class!” the sensei cooed. “This is Shannon! She’s here to talk to us about Japan, she’s moving there this summer because she was recently accepted to the JET Programme!“.


PAUSE- The JET Programme has been my dream for over two years. I applied in November and didn’t get past the first round of selections.

Confession- I instantly hated Shannon.


Then, for the next 1 HOUR I had to sit there, in the front row I might add, and listen to this girl’s story about getting into JET and how excited she was and blah, blah, blah. Oh go fuck off already….

What really pissed me off was that she…

  • had never been to Japan
  • applied on a whim
  • doesn’t know any Japanese
  • had never taken a Japanese course-neither language nor culture
  • graduated from the University of Hipsterville one or two years ago and didn’t get a job and was just looking for something that “paid decent”

How? It took everything I had in me not to cry or be visually angry. I really wanted that. I really wanted what she had and I didn’t even get the chance to show someone at JET how badly I wanted that! I invested three semesters in Japanese courses, I did a summer cultural immersion program, I worked my ass off and saved for two years  to pay for that program and for my flight because my dickwad parents didn’t see it as beneficial. I was on the mailing list and email list for TWO YEARS before I even applied!

Finally when the hour ended, I took a walk in the sunshine and my spirits were finally lifted when I bought a tank top with a cat on it from a student organization sale on campus.

My morning was made perfect by a presentation on Beyonce, then turned into a shitty afternoon because of Japanese bullshit, and was ultimately fixed by a cat on a tank. I guess experiencing all of those emotions in one 24 hour period is basically the life of a university senior.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

