State of the Union

Where to start? Monumental things are happening, and they all happened in the blink of an eye.

On Friday, I woke up in Hipsterville. I woke up as a ATF org member, but without a secured job.

I was scheduled for a 9:30 am skype interview with an alternative school in the middle of nowhere Mississippi. I wasn’t thrilled about that school, but I wasn’t against it. I’ll take what I get and it’s meant to happen the way it does, I thought to myself.

At 9:20, my phone rings. I was expecting it was the school to confirm our skype interview in 10 minutes. However, that was not the case.

“Hello ma’am I’m calling from The Delta High School in The Delta, Mississippi!” the man on the other end of the line bellowed. “Do you have time for an interview like, now?”

“Um, well… I have an interview in 10 minutes so maybe in 1 hour or so,” I began. Quick as a whip, he cut me off. In his thick, southern accent he blurted out “oh no, we can get this done in 10 minutes! Hop on Skype!”

And in 10 minutes, my life changed.

Because in those 10 minutes, the man offered me a job. I didn’t even know how good I had it until later that day.

Apparently, ATF has a policy that you must accept the first offer you are given. So even if the next interview worked out, it was set. I will be teaching at TDHS.

Researching it later, The Delta High School is the best possible placement I think in the WHOLE state of Mississippi. It’s only 30 minutes outside of Jackson. It’s basically in the city. It’s a traditional school with an established ATF partnership. It’s not terribly rural it’s not terribly impoverished it’s not terribly at risk . It’s doable. It’s exciting. It’s perfect.

Friday night, I fell asleep in Denver, Colorado. Employed. While visiting a friend I haven’t seen in 8 months. Happy.

And that, is this week’s state if the union.

XOXO,
Sara Wildes

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

